Skip to content
Haul Handbook logoHaul Handbook

Nebraska trucking

Nebraska trip and fuel permits

A truck can run Nebraska legally without apportioned plates or an IFTA license, but only on the state's own temporary permits, bought before the trip. Here is each trip permit and fuel permit, what it stands in for, what the state charges, and where to buy it, every fact sourced.

By Evan Reid, Founder of Haul Handbook · Updated Sep 27, 2026

Nebraska sells two 72-hour permits, online only and before the truck enters the state: a prorate (registration) trip permit for a nonresident truck without Nebraska apportioned plates, and a fuel trip permit for a qualified vehicle without an IFTA license. Bought together they cost 45 dollars, each plus a processing fee. Printed or digital copies are accepted but must be in the driver's possession.

The trip permit (registration side)

This credential answers for registration. Without it, a vehicle whose cab card does not list Nebraska has no legal registration standing in the state.

Permit
72-hour prorate trip permit
Stands in for
Nebraska apportioned (IRP) registration or full county registration of a nonresident truck, truck-tractor, bus, or combination
Fee
$25 (25 dollars for each truck, truck-tractor, bus, or truck or truck-tractor combination under Neb. Rev. Stat. 60-3,198(10), plus a processing fee whose amount the guide does not state. Bought together with the fuel permit it costs 45 dollars plus the processing fee.)
Valid for
72 hours
Who needs it
A nonresident vehicle eligible for apportioned registration but not apportioned with Nebraska, as the alternative to full county licensing as a nonresident commercial vehicle. A nonresident running strictly inside Nebraska may use it too, instead of a county non-resident commercial plate or apportioning through its home state. Transporters from listed reciprocal states displaying transporter plates do not need one.
Where to buy
Online only, through the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles website (dmv.nebraska.gov/services, Motor Carrier/Trucking section), before entering the state
Statute
Neb. Rev. Stat. 60-3,198(10)

The fuel permit (tax side)

This credential answers for the state's highway or fuel tax when there is no IFTA license (or, in the weight-distance states, no tax account) behind the truck.

Permit
72-hour fuel trip permit
Stands in for
An IFTA license, or advance arrangements to pay Nebraska motor fuel tax on the fuel burned in the state
Fee
$20 (20 dollars under Neb. Rev. Stat. 66-1418, plus a processing fee whose amount the guide does not state.)
Valid for
72 hours
Who needs it
A qualified motor vehicle (two axles over 26,000 pounds, three or more axles, or a combination over 26,000 pounds), farm or commercial, entering Nebraska without an IFTA license.
Where to buy
Online only, through the Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles website (dmv.nebraska.gov/services, Motor Carrier/Trucking section), before entering the state
Caught without one
Bringing fuel into Nebraska in a qualified vehicle without a trip permit or advance tax arrangements carries an administrative penalty of 100 dollars for each violation (Neb. Rev. Stat. 66-1417).
Statute
Neb. Rev. Stat. 66-1418

Worth knowing

Two other temporary credentials cover different cases. Carriers adding a vehicle to an established Nebraska apportioned fleet get a 45-day temporary registration authority at no fee while the registration processes. Owner-operators previously leased to a Nebraska-based carrier may buy a 30-day, non-renewable unladen weight permit to run empty: 20 dollars for a power unit, 40 dollars with a trailer, 60 dollars for three or more units.

Where these fit in the Nebraska permit stack

Temporary permits are the exception path. The standing credentials they replace are IRP apportioned registration and the Nebraska IFTA license. Oversize loads use a different permit family entirely, covered in Nebraska oversize and overweight permits, and the full picture of every state permit lives in Nebraska trucking permits.

Frequently asked questions

How much does a Nebraska permit cost?

The 72-hour prorate trip permit is $25, and The 72-hour fuel trip permit is $20, at the fees cited in the tables above. Those are the state's own charges; a third-party seller adds its own service fee on top.

Do I need a trip permit or a fuel permit for Nebraska?

Usually both, and they are separate purchases. The trip permit stands in for apportioned (IRP) registration and the fuel permit stands in for the IFTA license. If your cab card lists Nebraska and your IFTA decals are current, you need neither; the tables on this page carry each permit's terms with the official source.

When does buying temporary permits stop making sense?

Temporary permits price a single trip. A carrier running Nebraska lanes on a regular schedule comes out ahead adding the state to its IRP cab card and holding an IFTA license, because permit fees repeat on every trip while the annual credentials do not.

Can I buy these permits after entering the state?

No. Each credential on this page must be in place before the vehicle operates on Nebraska highways, and enforcement happens at roadside inspections and weigh stations. Buying from the state's own channel before the trip is the cheapest clean path.

Are permit-service prices the state fee?

No. Wire services and permit companies resell state permits with a service markup. The fees on this page are what Nebraska itself charges on its primary pages; anything above that is the middleman's fee, not the state's.

Haul Handbook publishes educational information about trucking registration and compliance requirements. This is not legal, financial, or tax advice. Rules, fees, and deadlines change; confirm with the agency before you file or pay.